Hobby farming is an exciting venture that allows you to explore your hobbies in an agricultural setting. While many of our competitors have limits on their ability to support hobby farms, that’s not the case for United Ag Lending.

Our Basic Hobby Farm Loan Requirements

Our hobby farm loan programs are customizable because we believe in meeting our farmers where they’re at. However, there are some basic requirements that you and your property need to meet to be a good fit for our hobby farm loan program.

  • Do you have a credit score of 680 or higher?
  • Is your hobby farm in a rural area?
  • Is your hobby farm acreage between 5 and 160?
  • Is there a home on the property that will serve as a primary or secondary residence?

If your answer is yes to all of these questions, we’d love to talk with you about how we can help finance your hobby farm venture. 

We’ve financed everything from berry farms to equestrian spaces. And our program comes with many great benefits, including:

  • Multiple homes/structures are allowed on the property
  • You can combine properties into one loan
  • Land value can exceed 30% of appraised value 
  • Schedule F income allowed 
  • Dwelling value only required to be 25% of value (lower allowed on a case-by-case basis)
  • Have shed homes, barndominium with typical living quarters, log homes, and multiple homes on your property

Ready to Discuss Financing Your Hobby Farm? Reach Out to United Ag Today

Our hobby farm loans are a key to your hobby farm’s success, giving you the flexibility and freedom to manage your hobby farm your way. Buying a hobby farm can be your new favorite pursuit, and we can help you make it happen.

Schedule a consultation to get in touch with one of our loan officers and start the process.

You can also get started with our loan planning tool!

Plan Your Loan

States we serve for hobby farming:

Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Washington, Wyoming.